Uncategorized

Buzz, buzz… Updates! And advice, anyone?

1) I have (sort of) disappeared from the whole internet-sphere for a fortnight, perhaps? The reason being I’ve been extremely stressed out. I’ve been practising for the regional spelling bee, which was today, and life’s just been hectic. WORDS, WORDS, WORDS. <strike>I thought I liked words…?</strike> Anyway, there were two year levels in my competition, and about 150 kids in all. You get an oral word from a pre-learnt list, which is worth 3 points. Then there’s a written word test, with 10 words from the pre-learn list, and 10 from the Collins Dictionary. The cut off score was 16 points. 19 kids (out of the 150!) got into the finals.

I couldn’t believe it, but I did.

And then, I came fourth.

The dreaded ‘ding!’ of the bell was horrible, but I guess there is a bit of luck in a spelling bee.

Still happy though.

And sort of running out of vocabulary at the moment. 😛

2) I have this new idea for a novel, which I rambled to Shim about, I need your advice! and it seems to be in a bit of an urban fantasy genre. I’m more of either a fantasy or realistic/contemporary writer, so I’m not sure what to do. Mostly because I want to start this story but I already have heaps of projects going on at once, and I really need to character develop and world build. Maybe I should try and outline a little, devolep the idea more and set it for my NaNo story this year? Hmmm… I’m not sure I would want to do that though, I guess I would prefer to stick to a genre I’m familiar to for NaNo. Does that make sense? Erg.

This is exactly how I feel. I feel ‘ya!

 

15 thoughts on “Buzz, buzz… Updates! And advice, anyone?

  1. Yay! So you’re coming back now, right? Hehe.

    Hmm…advice. Well… Okay, let’s see. Here’s what I think you should do: follow the plot bunny. See, you have roughly a month and a half until November, right? Or, rather, that’s roughly ~46 days of writing until NaNo. So, you should probably take it easy. Write whatever it is you’re inspired for and don’t force yourself really hard, because the last thing you want to do is exhaust yourself before NaNo even starts. Plus, this new story of yours might seem interesting, but if you try to wait to write it until November, that inspiration might be gone by then—plus, plot bunnies have this nasty habit of taking you a little ways and then dumping you. You wouldn’t want to have that happen in November. So anyway, I say, start writing that new story, and when November gets closer, then start trying to decide what you want to write. Remember, you could also be a rebel if need be and just work on a WIP.

    *hopes that paragraph makes even a small amount of sense*

    P.s. Hopefully I’ll be able to respond to your email this evening… I’m actually rather busy myself, so, yeah. Hehe, hopefully life calms down for us both.

    • Hehe yeah. 🙂

      Thanks for the advice. I’ve been thinking about the new story and I plan (or rather hope!) to start writing a bit of the story today. Erg…

      *makes enough sense for me* 😛

      Hehe, yeah. It’s calmed down quite a bit for me actually. Yay! Hopefully life will for you soon.

      • Yay!

        Awesome. Tell me how it turns out, would ya? 😀

        *yay*

        Mmm…it probably won’t until Christmas vacation—’cause the reason I’m so busy is ’cause I have school, and unfortunately, school won’t magically disappear. As far as I’ve found, anyway.

      • I… I can’t think of a good name for my main character. That’s all I’ve been doing, instead of writing. *facepalm* I’m juggling Kamri, Sybil, and Monday. Yeah, Monday. I feel like I need a week-day name character. *flails* Erg… What sort of personality would come to mind for those names to you?

        Gah, I feel you. >_<

      • Kamri, Sybil, and Monday… Well. Sybil, I kind of think of a pixie-ish kind of character. Like, small, cute, probably sassy. Kamri… mmm, nothing in particular for this one, actually, though I picture the name with someone a little tall. Monday, however… I don’t know, I picture someone rather distinct, but I can’t decide how. *muses*

      • Yeah, that’s what I think of the name Sybil as well…it doesn’t really fit. I think I’ve completely ruled out Kamri too. I don’t quite think Monday fits what the character I have pictured in mind seems like either.

      • So… (if you don’t mind saying) what kind of personality does this character have? I want to try to help find a name, but I’m not sure where to start when I know nothing about her…

      • The thing is, I’m not really sure what I want her to be like. So right now I’m working on that and then when I do know that I’ll tell you. I think I did everything in the wrong order.

      • Ahh… There really isn’t a wrong order for making characters. It’s all personal preference.
        Do you have an appearance? Sometimes appearance helps inspire me as to personality/name.
        Or do you have a first letter? Sometimes, certain characters strike me and tell me their name has to begin with a certain letter, for some reason. Not all of them do that, though…

      • And now I have another idea… a fairytale retelling. I love good fairytale retellings… and now I sort of have an idea for one. *facepalm* I really just need to STICK to one idea. Maybe I’ll write the fairytale retelling for NaNo? That would be fun… Now back to the name brainstorming. Gah. >_<

      • Oooh, I love fairy tale retellings, too…

        The other idea is to take several novel ideas and combine them into one novel. I don’t know if that’s applicable in your case, but I thought I’d suggest it.

Leave a Reply

