Uncategorized

Productivity, Prioritizing, and Procrastination

The three P’s. Productivity, prioritizing, and let’s not forget procrastination-who we’re in a love-hate relationship with.

First off, productivity. Thankfully, I’m finally getting more things done, and quicker as well. I’m trying to do as much school work as I can, mainly  in preparation (if you could call it that) for a scholarship exam next month on the 13th. Also I have a whole heap of ICAS (I don’t think you have them in America or England, mainly just the Pacific) exams. I’ve got Computer Skills done, and still have Science, Writing, Spelling, English, and Maths to go… Gah. Productivity seems to  just means doing school work at the moment. And getting on top of things… ish.

Also, prioritizing. Prioritizing first hit me in the head properly after I read Liam’s post When There Is No Time. Back when I first read it, I wasn’t really sure how to prioritize. I guess, first I took learning German off, because face to feat, I’ve got bigger things to worry about and learn. German’s going to have to wait until Summer break or something like that.

Then, Shim posted her post The Importance of Writing Every Day (well actually she posted this before Liam’s post.), and I realised I had to start writing every day. Why? Read her post.

So, I started trying to juggle writing as well as school work (after Operation S.T.O) and guess what? I managed one day! And then nothing. (Though I blame Shim for that, and Scrivener. :P) Than I wrote around 200 words in a word war with her, then got stuck in doing some character development. (YAY! FINALLY! :D)

Then something my mum said, made me realise, I wasn’t really prioritizing properly. As much as writing every day was really really really, ever so important, that scholarship exam is, currently, even more. (*cringe* I hate saying that. It makes me feel like I’m abandoning writing, for some stupid test.) So I had to put writing every day on hold. Gah!

Which means while I’ve been sort of productive with school work, I (optionally, especially seeing as I want to write) have chosen to procrastinate on writing. But seeing as I chose to not write (*cringe again*)… I guess it’s not really procrastination, eh?

 

10 thoughts on “Productivity, Prioritizing, and Procrastination

  1. Okay, so… I don’t normally do the whole shameless self-promotion thing, but in my most recent blog post, I had a revelation about *exactly* what you’re describing right now, and it made me feel infinitely better about life. This is the full post if you want to check it out: http://oliviaberrier.wordpress.com/2014/05/24/wisdom-from-my-sickly-week/

    But the main point of it is this quote “You are either writing, or doing what you need to do in order to write.” I’m sure that in some distant way, doing well on the scholarship exam will enable you to have a more comfortable life that will in turn let you focus on your writing. So when you think about it, it’s not really that you’re pushing writing aside to study. You’re studying so that you can support your writing.

    You’re not abandoning writing. You’re an artist doing what you need to do so that you can continue writing. 🙂

    • Ooh, thank you for sharing!

      I love the quote, and it makes me feel a whole lot better as well. You’re exactly right, and thank you so much for telling me that. Because while sometimes you sort of *know* it right at the back of your brain, it takes someone else who understands to actually point it out for it to make sense, and that’s what you did. 🙂

      Thank you! 😀

  2. I agree with what Olivia said, for one.

    For two…I’ve never heard of ICAS, so, I guess so. But we have the SAT. *glares at the SAT even if she doesn’t have to take that until her senior year of highschool*

    And… I don’t have much else to say. So, I guess, good luck! Hopefully you can get this all done and over with quickly and then you can get back to writing. ANd it’ll all work out great. 😀

    • Yeah. 🙂

      Ooh SAT. I’ve heard a lot about them even though we don’t have them here. 😀 I think ICAS is actually optional in a lot of schools, but I’ve taken it since Year 4… which come to think of it is a long time… O.o So I guess it’s not really the same idea as SAT seeing as it’s optional and for a lot of year levels.

      Hehe thank you. 😀 Guess what though. Even though I’m not superstitious or anywhere near the test’s on Black Friday. 😛

      • 🙂

        Yeah. SAT is basically, from what I understand, this big test you take at the end of school. It’s important if you want to get into a university.

        Hehe, that could be interesting… I’m not superstitious, either, but it sometimes, if nothing else, amuses me.

      • Ah right. So like NCEA, except NCEA is stupid.

        Hehe, yeah…did I tell you the other day on one of my circular runs, I saw three cats. The evil cat who we think killed one of our budgies, (we’ve seen it come in through the window), a one eyed cat, and a black cat… 😛

      • Uh… I have no clue what the NCEA is, but I guess so.

        Huh…That’s a little tiny bit spooky. We have a bunch of stray cats in our neighborhood, and some of them are pretty beat up from cat fights, but no one-eyed cats, nor black cats. As far as I remember, anyhow… there might be a black-and-white one somewhere.

Leave a Reply

