Uncategorized

Pesky Beginnings (part two)

You can read part one that actually doesn’t link to this too much, here.

I never meant to write part two of Pesky First Chapters/Beginnings, but I just had to. (They don’t actually link up that much, but their both on beginnings.) Anyway, one day into Camp (or rather two really for my time zone, but playing rebel I decided to go along with US time) and I procrastinated. Most the reason I decided to go with US time for Camp was because I wrote nothing on the first day my time. I procrastinated, and procrastinated. And there goes me telling everyone to befriend procrastination. *facepalm* I’m not sure if I’ve told you guys before, but Shim sure knows, with me complaining in pretty much every email I send her, that I just have not been motivated to write recently. I’m certainly inspired, but I just was  not motivated! Hang on, oh right, of course. All those posts about me complaining about not being motivated to write… How could I have forgotten? Anyway, so that’s the story. Me not being motivated. Again and again.

However, today I am not here to complain. I am here to celebrate. I am now motivated to write. Not because it’s Camp NaNo (I told you about not writing anything on my actual ‘first day’). No, it was all thanks to my amazing characters. Once I started writing, I had to continue, for my characters. (I know that sounds cheesy but whatever.) RPing with (yes, with)  them is fantastic, but writing their story is a whole different matter. Also, a huge thanks to  Jordan  who helped me figure out so much of my beginning. I really am not an outliner and planner, but Jordan is amazing! (I’m sure you can tell by all her helpful posts. :))

So anyway, now I’m writing again! Yay! And the point of this post is again to emphasize, even if you aren’t motivated,FORCE YOURSELF TO WRITE A PARAGRPH OR TWO. Who knows? You may just be motivated after that. 😉 And yes, chapter ones are hard, but once you get started you just have to carry on.

Hope you’ve had a good first day or two of Camp writing. Good luck!

Wait. This post seriously doesn’t link to Pesky First Chapters, apart from that they are both about beginnings. Eh, oh well. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Pesky Beginnings (part two)

  1. The first couple paragraphs were hard for me, they just felt wrong. Then I decided to switch the person (I was writing in third) and oh boy!!! I’m normally not a fan of writing in first person but I just love it for this novel! I even had time to watch part of a tv show and still get everything done.

    Well, I wish you luck on your novel! 🙂

    -Renn.

    • That’s awesome! I actually also had a hard time figuring out which PoV to write in, but in the end first stuck, and it fits for this novel. 🙂

      Thank you! Good luck to you too. 😀

    • Yay for writing even if that was way back at the beginning of the month! And yay for keeping writing! I know how it feels, sometimes, the best way to get going is to just start. And once you get past those first clunky paragraphs, ta-da! You keep going.

      Unless distractions arise and you can’t quite get into the story….gah.

Leave a Reply

