Uncategorized

February Reading Summary

Okay. I’m going to tell you now, straight out how I’m feeling. I’ve seriously considered skipping writing this month’s summary. Why? Well… I have read quite a lot of books, but the books are… let’s just say that most of them are aimed at kids a lot younger. My 9 (just turned 10) year old sister’s age.Β  Yeah. And I was sick this last week of February (and I’m still coughing), so that week I pretty much spent my whole time reading ‘easy’ books. And by that I mean, I read and read and re-read the whole series of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and got out old books… My family’s got most of the Wimpy Kid books, and while I don’t like them that much, and find them some what dumb… let’s face it. They’re an easy read. Real easy. And I’ve been lazy. I haven’t kept count how many of them I read, how many times… but a lot this month, mostly in the last week. >_<

Er, anyway, to the list of books I’ve read in reading order (ish). I’ve put a star next to the ones that are my sister’s books and/or ones I’ve read already.

  • The Cardturner, by Louis Sachar (336 pages)
  • *Underworld, by CathyMacPhail (284 pages)
  • Allegiant–Divergent Series Book 3, by Veronica Roth (526 pages)
  • The Fault In Our Stars, by John Green (313 pages)
  • *Almost Identical–Almost Identical Serious Book 1, by Lin Oliver (224 pages)
  • The Loblolly Boy–Book 1, James Norcliffe (220 pages)
  • The Loblolly Boy and the Sorcerer–Book 2, by James Norcliffe (297 pages)
  • *Just Annoying–Just Series, by Andy Griffiths (137 pages)
  • *Just Stupid–Just Series, by Andy Griffiths (145 pages)
  • *Just Shocking–Just Series, by Andy Griffiths (228 pages)
  • *(Various) Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series, by Jeff Kinney (Various pages)
  • *The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane, by Kate Dicamillo (224 pages)
  • *The Tale of Desperaux, by Kate Dicamillo (262 pages)
  • *Fantastic Mr. Fox, by Roald Dahl (96 pages)
  • *Two Faced–Almost Identical Book 2, by Lin Oliver (224 pages)

O.O Will you just look at how many of those are books of my sister’s or books I’ve read in the past? Just… wow. And so forth, I hardly wrote any reviews in my snazzy book notes journal, but I guess I’ll do some summaries today. Ehehe. πŸ˜€ I’m so embarrassed. >->

*Allegiant spoiler in summary. DO NOT read if you have not read it, and plan to.*

-I picked up The Cardturner by Louis Sachar, expecting something great. What I got however, was just average. I understand that it is a book about bridge, therefore explaining why it had many long passages about bridge. It gave you the option to skip, but I skimmed them. Even ignoring the boring bridge explaining parts, it definitely wasn’t the best of Sachar’s work. It had a nice story… but it really didn’t have any oomph to it, so it’s just a 7.5/10 0verall.

-I had read Run, Zan, Run! By Cathy MacPhail, and I really enjoyed it. (I read it about a year ago, but then my sister got it out this year, and so I read it again.) Underworld however, lacked the wowness. It was a simple sort of major accident story, with a bunch of arguing kids. It included some racial and weight discrimination, which actually was pulled off well. On the whole though, it was a mere 7/10 overall.

Allegiant, by Veronica Roth. I loved it. Well actually I didn’t. I hated the fact that Tris died, but unlike how some authors make a main character die, and I hate them forever… I guess Veronica Roth managed to pull it off. I understand why she did it. Adding to that, the whole story is brilliant, and written extremely well. It would be hard to understand without prior knowledge of the first two books, but it is truly a great story. Overall rating: 9/10.

The Fault In Our Stars, by John Green, just wow. This is the kind of book I understand why everyone loves so much, as with the Divergent Series. It’s emotional, it’s well written, it’s just brilliant. The characters were well developed, and yes, it was sad, but everything worked very well. Overall rating: 9.5/10.

-I really enjoyed Almost Identical by Lin Oliver when I first read it, and to be honest I still love it now. Perhaps in a differentish way now, but some books you love no matter how old you are, so I was over the moon when my sister read it and liked it as well. I think I probably re-read it about 3 or 4 times this month, mainly when I was sick. Though the storyline is simple, it works. Overall rating: 9/10.

The Loblolly Boy by James Norcliffe is truly amazing fantasy. It’s unique and I enjoyed it the whole way through. I’ve never read anything like it- perhaps that adds to why I like it so much. Overall rating: 9/10.

The Loblolly Boy and the Sorcerer, the sequel, is a whole different story. And by that, I’m implying it in two ways. If you’ve read the two books, you’ll understand why. During the beginning I didn’t much like the idea how it was different, but throughout the story I began to enjoy it. It was a different story, but that was okay. The only thing I just want to say is that, why James Norcliffe, why, would you name the book The Loblolly Boy and the Sorcerer? The Sorcerer hardly plays an important part! I mean he does, but I still think the title doesn’t make much sense. Still, ignoring that, the overall rating is still at a high 9/10.

-The Just books I read by Andy Griffiths are one word. Stupid. That’s all they are. But I was bored, and had nothing else to do, so I read them… you know how I said I was looking for easy reads? Well they’re actually pretty hard in a way- all the doodles and things on the side are highly annoying and gives you an headache. However, I’m sure eight year old boys would love them. Out of these three though, I found Just Shocking the worse- some of the stories didn’t even make any sense. >_< Overall three book rating: 6/10

The Diary of a Wimpy Kid Books are again pretty stupid, and suited for younger kids. I do find them a little better than the Just books though. The character development is brilliant, and although they are fairly ‘dumb’ they’re nice, easy, reads. Overall series rating: 7.5/10

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by one of may favourite children’s authors Kate Dicamillo. This is an easy, fairly simple read. It’s quite an emotional read as well, and it’s a book that I’m sure many people treasure. Overall rating: 8.5/10

-I first read The Tale of Desperaux also by Kate Dicamillo when I was seven at school. And I loved it. I’ve read it many times again, and I still love it. It’s beautifully told, with four parts to it, and I guess I just adore the story. Overall rating: 9.5/10

Fantastic Mr Fox by Roald Dahl is one of his books for younger readers. It’s rather simple, though I’m sure little kids love it- I mean I still like it, though the simplicity and I guess somewhat plainness of it would attract younger readers a lot more… if that makes sense? Overall rating: 8.5/10

Two Faced by Lin Oliver, is a good story on the whole, and links to the first book well. However, compared to the first book, I think that it focuses a bitΒ too much on a couple of things- and those are what makes the story come together. Overall rating: 8/10

And there we have it. Maybe I just shouldn’t post this. But it’s taken me a long time to finish… but it’s so embarrassing! *hides* Also, if you’re wondering why Gullstruck Island/The Lost Conspiracy by Frances Hardinge isn’t in there… it’s well because I haven’t finished it. In fact, I haven’t even carried on reading it. I just left it there on my desk, until it had to be returned, and I returned it to the library. A couple of days later though, I got it out again… and it’s well sitting there again waiting for me to read it. I’ll make sure I do that, I mean I’m sure I’ll love it once I start, but it’s just this start…

I also started reading The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, and I guess I’ll just read a bit of that every so often, eheh. And also I’m about halfway through The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman, both which I started on the last day of February. πŸ˜€ And guess what? I found The Graveyard Book in the YA section under Horror, instead of in Adult Fiction which it had been when I searched it up on the library site. I think now it’s finally in a more appropriate category! Hehe.

And that draws an end to my horribly embarrassing February Reading Summary.All book covers are the versions I have (mostly), and the images are copyright to the authors/illustrators/publishers.

https://i1.wp.com/www.louissachar.com/images/The%20Cardturner%20Big.jpghttps://i1.wp.com/d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1346192887l/10623834.jpghttps://i2.wp.com/olmclibrary.global2.vic.edu.au/files/2013/10/divergent-book-3-allegiant-uk-cover-1jt5kf0.jpghttps://i1.wp.com/media.npr.org/assets/bakertaylor/covers/t/the-fault-in-our-stars/9780525478812_custom-7eb6cc16a8a3f2266865895e1718ac9e9d6232e0-s6-c30.jpghttps://i0.wp.com/img1.imagesbn.com/p/9780448451916_p0_v1_s260x420.JPGhttps://i1.wp.com/www.familytimes.co.nz/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Loblolly-Boy.jpghttps://dynamicramblings.files.wordpress.com/2014/03/56b55-loblolly2bboy.jpghttps://i2.wp.com/www.panmacmillan.com.au/cover1/9780330360784.jpghttps://i0.wp.com/andygriffiths.com.au/books/images/juststupid_large.jpghttps://i0.wp.com/andygriffiths.com.au/books/images/justshocking_large.jpghttps://i2.wp.com/img2.imagesbn.com/p/9781419711879_p0_v1_s260x420.JPGhttps://dynamicramblings.files.wordpress.com/2014/03/59623-edward-tulane.jpghttps://i1.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/e/e5/The_Tale_of_Despereaux.jpghttps://i1.wp.com/img1.imagesbn.com/p/9780448495590_p0_v1_s260x420.JPG

And now, I shall leave this blog forever due to embarrassment, and the fact that there are probably many mistakes I’ve made. Does my being sick excuse still work? I mean I’m still coughing… and I did check

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

34 thoughts on “February Reading Summary

    • Hehe, I’m really liking The Graveyard Book. The Great Gatsby seems a bit confusing, but that’s just me ten or so pages in. πŸ˜€ Hehe, thanks for your posts by the way, they were the ones that prompted me to read them. πŸ˜€

      • I love TGB. It doesn’t talk down to its readers like so many children’s books unfortunately do. πŸ™‚

        Yes, Gatsby is confusing at first. The introductory bits aren’t exactly attention-grabbers. It’s all oH MY GOD AND THEN GATSBY DID THIS AND IT WAS TERRIBLE but it’s all so annoyingly vague when all you want to know is WHAT HAPPENED.

        Ahaha, awesome, thank YOU! πŸ™‚

      • Right. I find it’s just getting better! πŸ˜€

        Ah right. Thank you for explaining that, I was just like… ah what reading the first bit.

        Hehe, well I’m just going to thank YOU again, and let’s leave it at that. πŸ˜€ I mean seriously, I love your posts. A lot. *nods* And though I don’t comment a lot, I’m constantly stalking it. *mysterious grin*

  1. YOU READ ALLEGIANT AND THE FAULT IN OUR STARS
    YESHHHH
    THEY’RE AWESOME
    :DDD
    (also listen to Still Into You by Paramore and think of Tobias if you want extra Allegiant feels Dx)

    AND THE TALE OF DESPERAUX
    I NEED TO REREAD THAT
    IT’S AMAZINGG
    :DDD
    /endpointlesspost

    • YESSSS THEY ARE! πŸ˜€

      (Okay I will. :D)

      I KNOW
      IT’S FANTASTIC
      BRILLIANT! πŸ˜€

      /endalsopointlesspostapartfromthefactyourcommentwasn’tpointlessthatdoesn’tmakesense. πŸ˜›

  2. Wow. You’ve read more books than I have! I haven’t even read any little books…. in fact, the only books I’ve read and finished last month were…. books in the Bible, actually. Heh. I’m still trying to read The Book Thief, which I feel really guilty about, because it’s borrowed from a friend from like a month ago, and it’s taking me so long to read it…. I’m just having a hard time reading anything, for some reason. >_<

    I probably shouldn’t ask this, but is Tale for Desperaux anything like the movie? I loved the movie.

    • Ehehe. *giggles* πŸ˜€ And see that’s the thing, I’m procrastinating from finishing any books of the Bible. Actually, make that starting any at the moment. *facepalm* Oof.

      I really want to read The Book Thief, and I’ve got it reserved at the library. What number am I at again? Have I made it to the twenties? *headdesk* I’ve never been patient. Gah. (There goes spell check again. :))

      Ooh! I can’t really remember what the movie was like, I watched it when I first read it when I was what seven also? Because we read it in class and when we had finished we also watched the movie. I think I did enjoy the movie actually, and so yes, I think I can say that the book is wonderful compared to the movie and it still is not compared to the movie, if that makes any sense. *facepalm*

      And about not commenting, that’s absolutely fine! πŸ˜€

      • I know that feeling… I procrastinate so much in reading the Bible, so I decided to be really aggressive and found this reading plan that will go through the entire bible in three months. So I’ve read, in about a month or so (I should be farther, but I’m not quite going as fast as I’d like) Genesis, Exodus, Levitcus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. Man, Numbers and Deuteronomy are…….really hard to read. And Leviticus, for that matter.

        Really? That’s quite a line… I don’t think I’ve ever had to go on a reserve for the library. *wonders if that’s a good thing or not*

        Ah. I think that makes sense…..

      • Yeah? *sighs* I should do something like that as well. Ehehe, good luck Kiwi, I don’t think so. *facepalm*

        Yeah. *sighs* I guess it’s a good thing that they probably have five or more copies. Eh. D:

        Right, okay. READ IT! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • Hehe. I did it because if I was just telling myself to read one or two chapters a day, it was so easy to say, “Oh, it won’t hurt to not read anything today”, and so, I didn’t really read it at all. But now, with this, I have to read like 12 to 16 a day, so it’s more aggressive and forces me to keep going. Plus, there’s the motivation that, when I get done with this, I can honestly say, “I read the whole Bible in ninety days!” Or, maybe a more like a hundred, but still. πŸ˜€

        Hehe, that too….

        Okay! Just….as soon as my mom takes me back to the library. >_<

  3. Pingback: This Or That? | Musings From Neville's Navel

Leave a Reply

