Uncategorized

January Reading Summary

For me, it’s hard to believe that it’s already 2014.. and January’s coming to an end. Ah well, also around the middle of the month, I decided that each month I would do a little short reading summary thing. For Christmas last year, I got a pretty skilled ‘Book Notes’ journal, and while I won’t be posting all of the two pages for each book, I’ll be taking snippets from it. ๐Ÿ˜€

I’ve done quite a bit of reading this month, with a total of 13 books.ย  Listed are the books, in order of which I read them.

  • Into the Woods, by Lyn Gardner (428 pages)
  • Out of the Woods, by Lyn Gardner (350 pages)
  • Fly by Night, by Frances Hardinge (436 pages)
  • Wonder, by R.J Palacio (313 pages)
  • Water, by Geoff Havel (185 pages)
  • Verdigris Deep/Well Witched, by Frances Hardinge (328 pages VD copy)
  • Ivy + Bean Take the Case, by Annie Barrows (128 pages)
  • A Face Like Glass, by Frances Hardinge (489 pages)
  • The Teashop Girls, by Laura Schaefer (256 pages)
  • The Eddie Dickens Trilogy- three books in one: Awful End, Dreadful Acts, Terrible Times, by Philip Ardagh (429 pages)
  • Twilight Robbery/Fly Trap, by Frances Hardinge. (584 pages FT copy)

Before I start I just need to helplessly fangirl over Frances Hardinge’s books. Well. I’ve never ever ever had a favourite author, and I never planned on having one. But after Wonder, (Bean/Topaz from NaNo’s) recommendation on her profile page of Frances Hardinge books, I went and reserved every single one in the library. And guess what? I LOVED her books. They are simply amazing, and of all these A Face Like Glass is simply WOW…

-Into the Woods and Out of the Woods by Lyn Gardner were highly enjoyable. I loved how so many fairy tales were twisted into the main story.. it’s brilliant. Overall rating ITW: 9.5/10, OTW: 9.5/10

Fly by Night was certainly interesting and unique, and on the whole I guess I liked it. It introduced me to Hardinge’s way of writing, and though this wouldn’t be my favourite Hardinge book, I liked it. The complicated bits, mixed with simple lines, the special plot and storyline… it was slightly hard to follow, though it was told wonderfully. Overall rating: 8.5/10

Wonder is a lovely story. Though it had it’s minor plot holes, the story on the whole was actually rather in depth, while put in a somewhat casual style. Overall rating: 9/10

-I picked up Water at the library, not sure what to expect. It’s certainly rather unique. I can’t say if I actually liked it, the realism with the science fiction. It was rather odd, the story was interesting, but the characters weren’t developed too well, which was a certain let down. Overall rating: 6.5/10

Verdigris Deep would be my ‘least favourite’ of the Hardinge books, though I still liked it. It got a bit confusing at times, but I guess it was okay. The unique twists were enjoyable at times, while not so at others. Overall rating: 8.5/10

-I read Ivy+Bean Take the Case in the space of around 15-20 minutes. My little sister borrowed this from the library, and when I had nothing to read, I read this. Now, I’ve read some other Ivy+Bean books as well, and they are actually written fairly well, characters are known better throughout the series too. It’s suited for ages around 5-8, and for them it would be a 8.5/10 book.

A Face like Glass is truly a masterpiece. I love it. It’s amazing. How every single little bit of detail is worked together and conjures up this wonderful tale, simple little clues that are hard to notice turn into the most amazing conflicts, just wow.ย It’s flawless down to the smallest details, and it’s just perfect. Overall rating: 10/10. I pretty much never rate a book 10/10, and I’ve gone and done it. There.

The Teashop Girls was again a novel I somewhat randomly picked up from the library. It was the stereotypical type of realistic cheesy fiction. It had a simple and boring plot and problem, the characters weren’t developed too well and it was a mere ‘meh’ of a novel. Overall rating: 5.5/10

The Eddie Dickens Trilogy. I got the 3 books in one book from the library, thinking, “Ah yes, I remember reading the first book Awful End in primary school when I was about eight” I only remembered a little bit of it, and to my surprise, I greatly enjoyed all three books. Philip Ardagh has a unique witty sense of humour that I highly enjoy. And even though these books are suited for younger children, I give it an overall rating of 9.5/10.

Fly Trap is another amazing Hardinge book. It’s the sequel to Fly by Night, and I must say, I loved this, the sequel, a lot more. The story on the whole is a lot more interesting, and it kept me engaged completely, unlike FBN which I got bored of in parts. However, I did find that one of the main character and protagonist, Mosca Mye, was portrayed slightly differently as of FBN, and so was Eponymous Clent, another main. However, I did enjoy it and I think it deserves a high rating of 9.5/10 overall.

At the moment I’m reading Gullstruck Island/ The Lost Conspiracy, by Frances Hardinge, (the last of her books currently published that I have not read) and I don’t think I’ll be finishing it by tomorrow (I’ve only just started) so I’m posting this now, one day early… the summary of that will have to wait until next month, but 27 pages in, I can certainly say it’s hooked me in. You know, as it’s the only one left I haven’t read, I only decided to start it when Wonder told me that there’s another book coming out in March by Hardinge. Yay!!

Also, I plan and hope on starting Les Miserables next month, as soon as the library’s copy has finished being ‘fixed’. I understand it is a challenge to read, but I’m going to try, and see how it goes.

And… that’s about it. ๐Ÿ˜€

All these are the cover versions I had. These images were all found on the internet, and copyright to the publishers/authors/illustrators of the cover.

6 thoughts on “January Reading Summary

  1. I’m glad to know that I’m not the only person who picks up her younger sibling’s half-hour-at-most-to-read books and reads them for no real reason.

    Honestly, I have never heard of a single one of those books…. I think I read too much fantasy. *facepalm* But, I shall look into a few of those, I think…

Leave a Reply

