Uncategorized

Good Things Jars

{Quoting Wonder (Bean on NaNoWriMo) Original thread for Wrimos}

(from this post) “Start on January 1st* with an empty jar. Throughout the year write the good things that happened to you on little pieces of paper. On December 31st, open the jar and read all the amazing things that happened to you that year.”

*Of course, since I didn’t post this earlier, it’s perfectly fine to start on the 2nd or the 3rd or even in July. I just think it’s a really great thing to do.

This is what I’m doing, anyway. I’ve taken a jar that we’re never going to use for anything else, cut up some index cards into little foldable things, and I’m keeping the jar in a place I’ll see it and remember what I’m doing every day.
I dunno, it just seems like a really nice thing to do. And I’m saying this on what has been a really crappy day for me– because it’s forcing me to find things to appreciate, even just little things like finding my stuffed penguin after I thought I’d lost him this morning.
So if at all possible, I want to suggest this to you. I’m not, like, asking you to do this, I don’t want to push you into anything ’cause then it’s just forced, but this seems really great to me and I wanted you all to see it. ^.^

*

Don’t you think this is such a good idea? I started this yesterday, the 3rd of January in my time, and caught up with the ‘good things’ from the previous days.  There are lots of other versions of doing this as well~

21 thoughts on “Good Things Jars

  1. That’s a really neat idea, actually!

    Speaking of which, I found my own thing to do that’ll hopefully cheer me up a little… My mom found this poster that says “Smile, you’re designed to”, and I decided to tack it up on my ceiling (yeah, my ceiling), so that I’ll see it when I wake up every morning. I did that yesterday, and y’know what? I actually was smiling when I woke up and was in a somewhat cheery mood this morning. Hehe, man, it’s so weird reacting to things with a smile when normally I’d get mad.

      • Yeah, me too. I mean, I suppose I still laugh a lot, but it’s not quite the same. Usually I laugh because I’m not sure how else to respond, but it doesn’t have anything to do with being cheery or happy.

        Hopefully, I can change that, though… hopefully we can all cheer up, eh? Anyway, good luck to you! 🙂

      • Thanks. Today I had a mental breakdown, and started bawling my eyes out after singing a bit of Do you wanna build a snowman off Frozen. So much for being happy and such. *sighs*

      • Oh, I know that feeling… Peace made me listen to that song (I haven’t seen the movie yet), and I almost wanted to start crying, too. But I do break down and start crying over nothing a lot, especially lately.

      • Yeah. However, on the happyish side of things, you must watch the movie Shim, and I don’t say that for a lot of movies. *shakes head* I don’t know why, but sometimes I just can’t control my emotions.

      • Oh, don’t worry, I plan on seeing it. It might be a while, but I will most definitely see it. (I really like animated movies like that, and it just looked amusing, anyhow, especially after I watched the YouTube video for the Do You Wanna Build a Snowman song.)

        Hehe, to be honest, I can never control my emotions. Doesn’t matter what it is, I can’t control it. If I’m upset, then I’m going to be fighting back tears, and if I’m mad, ……well, yeah, you can probably guess. On the other side of the token, if I’m excited, you can’t get me to stand still or talk quiet. Or slowly. Hehe, oops.

      • Good, good. :3 It is amusing in parts, but really sad in others.

        Neither can I. I’m well known to ‘exaggerate’ and ‘lose my temper to often’ and ‘hold a grudge for too long’ and ‘keep on sulking’ and such. And then when I’m hyper…
        “Oh, you mean the kid that sometimes sulks in the corner or the one that’s jumping up and down about a new movie?”
        “Wait what? Their the same person?”
        Pretty much. 😀 Eheheh. I’m two people. So magical.

      • Yeah?

        Hehe, I’m two people, sometimes, too. For me, though, it’s more like, “Oh yeah, that girl who sits in the corner and doesn’t say anything and always wears that silly pink hat. Yeah, I’ve seen her. Wonder why she never talks to anybody…” and then, “Wait, her? The one who’s grinning like a lunatic and can’t stop bouncing in her seat?”

        Well, sorta like that. After all, I really have no clue whatsoever how people really perceive me… It kinda depends on who I’m with, though. Usually it’s just my family that sees me get emotional, while the rest of the world sees me as quiet, scared-to-talk-to-anybody-because-I’m-afraid-nobody-wants-to-talk-to-me, and I really do wear a pink hat. But only in the winter… sometimes in the summer, I wear a hat from a Halloween costume a few years ago. *doesn’t even know why she’s rambling about her hat*

      • I have three younger brothers, and I am NOT that lucky, let me tell you. The youngest one is still cute, even if he can be a little annoying, but the older two are….. well, let’s just say they’re boys. End of story. My sister isn’t too bad as long as she isn’t mad at you…

      • Oh man… that’s definitely got to be lots of fun…. I definitely am not looking forward to when my sister hits that stage. She’s perfectly fine at eight years old, thank you.

        Hehe, siblings…. Yesterday, I was trying to play a rather frustrating game, and so my baby brother decided to come up and give me a hug. And then another one. And then a third one. It was rather annoying, since I was in the middle of something, but it was so, so cute at the same time!

Leave a Reply

