Uncategorized

An Essential Notebook

“Always carry a notebook. And I mean always. The short-term memory only retains information for three minutes; unless it is committed to paper you can lose an idea for ever.” – Will Self

I’ve heard this, and read this. I’ve always thought, “Yeah, good point. I’m going to do that too.” But never actually done it. When it comes to the time when I think of a really cool name/idea or whatever, I’m always like, ‘I’ll be sure to remember that!’ But really. What do I do? Forget it ten seconds later. I can tell you there are ideas I’ve never been able to bring back, and ones that I’ve strained so hard to think about that I have remembered half of it.

Each time this happens, I pinch myself for not keeping a notebook and pen/pencil with me. And you know why I never actually get a notebook to take with me every moment in my life? Laziness. It’s that thing that leads us to not doing things that could enhance magical sparks of inspiration. I still haven’t actually got myself a notebook for everyday, but after writing this, I sure will… soon. See! Laziness strikes again. Ahem, *clears throat* anyway, what I’m saying is that I encourage you to do so to. See? There’s even a good quote about it! And I’m sure there are more quotes too.

4 thoughts on “An Essential Notebook

  1. I keep my iPod with me, and it has a notes app on it, for exactly this purpose. Carrying a big notebook everywhere can be a little annoying, but my iPod can fit into my pocket, so it’s perfect.

    But yes, there are still a few times where I’ve had the most *brilliant* idea, only to forget it. Especially right before I go to bed…. Hmm.

Leave a Reply

