Uncategorized

Writer’s Blocks… Sister?

I hadn’t actually really got writer’s block in Nano last year. I think partially it was because I was still new to my whole ‘Olympic Dreams’ novel idea, and I was so eager to ‘win’ Nano. Now that I come to the editing stage months after, and find myself with really just a basic idea filled up with 30,000 words, I don’t know where to start. Last week I started editing a bit. Then I just stopped.

I’ve tried to start editing again, but I just find excuses. It’s the holidays at the moment and I’d thought I’d be able to get quite a bit done. But clearly not so! Things distract me, like making a new blog, postaday, Nano, and my real daily life. And since it’s the holidays, I want to have some fun! (I can see I’m getting rather off topic here…)

The thing is, I actually wantΒ  to write, but there’s like a barrier stopping me from doing that. I think it’s writer’s block, finally coming to haunt me after a peaceful Nanowrimo last year, but isn’t writer’s block when you just don’t want to write at all, where you have no inspiration at all?

I keep convincing myself, saying it’s alright, “it’s just Writer’s Blocks Sister.”Β  But even so, my novel’s still there, unedited. (Is that even a word?)Β  Maybe it’s because I’m starting to think up grand ideas again, ideas that probably won’t possible come true. Things like changing the novel a lot, and writing a lot more, so it has something like a 100,000k word count with three parts to it. Or maybe it’s all the new ideas buzzing around my head.

So now I’m not even sure if I’ll finish a good copy of ‘Olympic Dreams’ before Nano this year.

Gee, I hate writer’s block, sister or not.

10 thoughts on “Writer’s Blocks… Sister?

  1. Editor’s Block?

    Wow. I keep forgetting that you live on the other side of the world from me. Hehe, out here, in July, the only thing eventful is that my family has like six birthdays this month…… So, I’ve always wondered this….are the months the same for you? Meaning, it’s July here, so is it also July there, or is it….December? January?

    Anyway. Sometimes, it’s good to follow the grand ideas, but if you do, I’ll warn you it will take a long time to find the right thing. I spent the better part of two years following “grand ideas” on how to change my plot and all that (really big changes) for one of my novels before I finally found the thing I *really* wanted to write (honestly the only thing that stayed the same between now and the original was the concept behind the main character). Now I love it, and I’m going to be editing draft two and going onto draft three next month. πŸ™‚

    • *nods* I do live on the other side of the world, BUT… It is also July. πŸ™‚

      Yes editors block sounds about right, although I think it’s a mixture of writer’s block and editor’s block. Thanks for the advice by the way Shim, and I think my novel will probably end up somehow like yours ended. I’m even thinking about changing my MC’s name. πŸ™‚

      • Oh. Okay. Just wondering. πŸ™‚

        Glad I could help! Like I said, the only thing that stayed the same was the concept behind my MC (though her personality changed) and her name did stay the same, though I did try to change it several times…..it never seemed to work, though. She was stuck with the name she had.

      • That’s alright. πŸ˜€
        Yes, in fact my MC’s name has already changed once. I think she’ll mature a bit after a car accident, and a loss of a leg. (Yes it sounds like one of those grand ideas, and it sounds quite, what ‘s the word, cruel?)

      • It depends on how you write it. It could turn out to be kinda cruel (but believe me, I have my own evil-authoress moments as well), but it could also be just an obstacle for her to overcome (making the ending even…..what’s the word………bigger? Nah, that’s not it. I can’t think of the right word, though….) or something like that. My MC matured a little when I turned her sister evil…..Hmm.

      • Maybe more satisfying? I don’t know either, I know what you mean though. I think if you want the MC to change, you need something to change? I don’t know. I don’t want it to sound overly gory, if you know what I mean, and I want it to still be realistic.

        By the way, the other day I picked up a book in my school library called ‘Alex’ I read it, and it had a somewhat big idea as Olympic Dreams. I’m kinda scared if I publish (ages away) OD, people will think I copied the author of Alex.

  2. Editor’s Block?

    Wow. I keep forgetting that you live on the other side of the world from me. Hehe, out here, in July, the only thing eventful is that my family has like six birthdays this month…… So, I’ve always wondered this….are the months the same for you? Meaning, it’s July here, so is it also July there, or is it….December? January?

    Anyway. Sometimes, it’s good to follow the grand ideas, but if you do, I’ll warn you it will take a long time to find the right thing. I spent the better part of two years following “grand ideas” on how to change my plot and all that (really big changes) for one of my novels before I finally found the thing I *really* wanted to write (honestly the only thing that stayed the same between now and the original was the concept behind the main character). Now I love it, and I’m going to be editing draft two and going onto draft three next month. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

